Only for One More Day

Lying silently in the stillness of the late, cold night,

A yellow glow floods in from outside my window, that lonely street light.

Sleeplessly staring at the ceiling, the canvas of my thought.

I project my life upon that wall, while answers to questions are sought.

Ghosts of memories past are brought up front, causing my heart to sink.

Who the hell would have guessed, this all started with one drink?

A dark thought crosses my mind, as I lie on the floor,

A too familiar foe, Suicide, came knocking on my door.

Blinded by my tears, grief, and pain, I felt this was the only way.

Then the early morning sun warmed my face, dried my tears, pleading for me to stay.

I agreed, “Yes. But only for another day.”

Leave a Reply

