My Mermaid.

I followed her into the water, the girl
that in my silly romantic way I like
to think of as a mermaid.
Remembering as I went, Yeats’ promise
that the mermaid would find the swimmer
and that even lovers drown.
Which rather depends on your definition
of lover of course. Not lovers that way
but love her I most certainly did
how could I not having been through
all that we did , despite the outcome.
But you see, Yeats got it wrong
Because once again here I am
washed up on the wide world’s shore.

One response to “My Mermaid.

  1. Hello and congratulations! I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award. I’ve written about it here, check it out: http://thinkjunk.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

