Alligator_Aviator_Autopilot_Antimatter

Just sharing this song and video with you today. No particular reason, except I love the nonsense of it and also this blog has not been that chirpy recently!

I borrowed from it a bit for my bio on Twitter. It goes like “Erstwhile naval aviator; now an alligator climbing up the escalator, firefighter, photographer. Poet (which, ironically, doesn’t scan).” My life seems so much simpler in 140 characters or less.

This is one of the songs which, when I want to get myself a bit more upbeat I listen to loudly on wireless headphones and dance like no one is watching. However, more often than not someone is watching. Usually the kids with open mouths and incredulous looks on their faces. As I have said many times before, it is a parents duty to regularly embarrass their children so no problem there. My manic dachshund likes to join in. Meanwhile my not so manic beagle looks almost as non-plussed as the children.

This song also gives my OH the opportunity to pull my leg. I think she is amused by how much I get into music, especially bands I really like. The first time I played this when she was around I’d just played REM’s The Great Beyond. This includes the line “I’m pushing an elephant up the stairs”. She said, “All his lyrics are about animals moving up a level. He’s been taking the piss out of you for years”!

So, the video

I feel like an alligator
Climbing up the escalator
Climbing up the escalator
I feel strong

I feel like an aviator pilot
Bet you wouldn’t buy it
I’m feeling violent
Bet your bleeding eye in, turn up and fly it
Hey, hey, alligator, you’ve got a lot to learn
I have got, have got a lot to learn

I feel like an autopilot
I’m the world’s strongest island
I feel like a rage coming under my hood
I feel good and calm like a robot would

I feel like an autopilot
I feel like an autopilot
I am not a hater, hater, hater, hater, hater
Hey, hey, alligator, you’ve got a lot to learn
I have got, have got a lot to learn

I feel like a contradiction
I’m a walking science-fiction
I don’t know which way to turn
I’ve got a lot to burn
I’ve got a lot of lot to learn

If I didn’t like the way you stared at me
If I didn’t like the way you stared at me
I could knock sideways, I could knock you blind
I could show you found to the lost and find

I am not an agitator
I feel like an alligator
Climbing up the escalator
Hey, hey, alligator, you’ve got a lot to learn
I have got, have got a lot to learn

You’ve got so much to learn
You got a lot to learn

Leave a Reply

